I finally finished seaming the Kimono. I am still undecided if I will give it to my coworker or not. Apparently the kimono-style makes it “too girly”. I love it very much, at any rate. The yarn is so pretty – it reminds me of a watercolor painting. I can’t remember which one but it’s famous. I am a little bit worried that the armholes are too small, but little baby fists and wrists are tiny, right? The arms look really long to me too, but hey, whatever. I hit gauge and it matches what the pattern says. I don’t like it in general though and would probably not do it this way again – I prefer the garter stitch version.

Here is a picture of the inside of the side seam. Not too bad looking if I do say so myself. I chose to make the kimono in stockinette though the pattern suggests garter (the book was written by people who loathe purling, apparently) because I didn’t think the yarn would look as nice in garter stitch and I think I was right if this reverse stockinette is any indication.

The underside of the arm. The arm is decreased across the length so it was not quite as easy as the side seams. I was also joining vertically rather than horizontally. But, I think I did reasonably well.

Maybe this picture gives you some idea of what I mean when I say it looks like a watercolor. You can also see my absolutely perfect side seam here. I am so proud. You only know it’s there because the color of yarn changes ;) Posted by Picasa