What kind of popsicles are pink and purple? Well, my awesome socks.

The Popsicle pattern by Nicole Hindes is unlike anything I would normally choose. It has BOBBLES. This seems to be a common thread among Sock Yarnista club members – this “OMG BOBBLES” feeling.  Many of us have never done bobbles before, or we have done them but didn’t care for them, or any number of other things.  But, most of us are going with the flow and knitting the pattern as specified, me included.

To my surprise, I have found that I adore these bobbles.  I had to modify them slightly so that it does not cause as much pain when I am knitting them (ktbl rather than ptbl), and at first it was slow going, but now I’ve got them down – just in time to be nearly finished.  The bobbles change to purls for the foot of the sock so the bumps don’t get in the way of shoes. I received my yarn on Wednesday and knit the ribbing. Thursday I knit about half of the bobble rounds and the other half last night. Today they are temporarily on hold while I study (and update my blog, of course) but I hope to get back to them tonight and tomorrow – I am nearly to the heel flap and gusset.

This

 

Became this – the beautiful ball of yarn, and the start of the socks after the ribbing and one bobble round (I am knitting these two-at-once on one not-quite-long-enough circular).

And now they are here (bad color – the sun is not out today).  Admit it, you love the bobbles too….

(Can you tell where I have an extra plain row between bobble rows?  Yeah, I forgot how to count – we were watching There Will Be Blood – but the beauty of two-at-once socks is that they are both wrong in the same way, so I left them that way :) )

Oh, and I also finished these socks – simple 2×2 rib in my own basic sock pattern, “Hoh Rainforest” yarn from the Knit Me Up Twilight Sock Club.  I am glad I left them shorter than normal, I ought to have done some decreases for the cuffs if they were going to be much taller.  I love the yarn on the cuffs, it doesn’t pool nearly as much as it did on the foot.  It is hard to take photographs of your own feet..

What do you think – did Carol get the colors right?  Here is a spiderweb and mossy tree in the Hoh Rainforest.

