You are currently browsing the daily archive for 1 September 2008.

Welcome to the 3IG Sweater KAL!  Today is the official kick-off, and I know that some participants have already started their sweaters.  Others of us have to finish a few other projects first, and I know a handful of people are still waiting for yarn.  Don’t worry – we won’t leave you behind!

I must admit that I am one of the people who has another project to finish first.  I am working on a shawl for my wedding in October, and while I had hoped to finish that by now it obviously hasn’t happened.  I’ll be working away on that for now, although I will take a few breaks to get started on my sweater.

To kick off the KAL, I thought it would be fun to see what everyone is working on.

I’ll be working on a cardigan using Elenya Alpaca in the Fitzgerald colorway, with coordinating Spruce trim.

I have actually had this yarn for quite some time now, but I haven’t been able to decide what to do with it.  I have finally settled on a cardigan – probably with a zipper, probably with no hood, most likely with corrugated ribbing at the hem and possibly with stripes.

As I hate purling, I’m seriously considering knitting in the round and trying out steeking for the first time. Hopefully I can avoid too much pooling given the large diameter of an adult sweater… but I’ll need to do some more swatching to be sure. The above swatch was knit back-and-forth and it is just lovely.

Isn’t it lovely?

So – KALers – what are you knitting? What yarn base and colorway did you choose? Are you trying any new techniques?

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Categories

Flickr Photos

6Month

3Month

Wall 3

Wall 4, Night time, lights on

Wall 4, Daytime, cloudy, lights off

Wall 1

More Photos

Shops I Like

3ig